Fa | AR | AZ |

Georgia at a glance

Georgia (/ˈdʒɔːrdʒə/ ( listen); Georgian: საქართველო, translit.: sakartvelo, IPA: [sɑkʰɑrtʰvɛlɔ] ( listen)) is a country in the Caucasus region of Eurasia. Located at the crossroads of Western Asia and Eastern Europe, it is bounded to the west by the Black Sea, to the north by Russia, to the south by Turkey and Armenia, and to the southeast by Azerbaijan.
Georgia name
The native name of Georgia was Colcida or Calchis, and it was Iberia later. Parts of this land referred to as “Kaketi”,”Kartli”,”Imerti”, and “Agrisi”. The territory has been inhabited since ancient times, and the ancient works of stone, bronze and iron periods representing the tribal structures, and then the era of cross-border migration, social societies, animal husbandry and agriculture. Georgia is a mountainous country in the Caucasus region between the mountains of the Caucasus and the small Caucasus, the border between Europe and Asia. Georgia is located in the middle and west of the south Caucasus. Georgia, after Armenia and Rome, is the third country to have selecting Christianity as an official religion in the early 4th century. The peak of political, economic and cultural relations between Iran & Georgia dates back to the Safavid period.
The Mother of the most kings of Iran was Georgian, and the Georgians in the Safavid system had many civilian posts and armies. In the 19th century, during the Russian Tsarist years, relations between Iran and Georgia were dimmed by many reasons and were almost cut off during the Soviet period with the closure of the consulates of Iran in Tbilisi and Batumi.
But in the 1990s, after the independence of Georgia and the establishment of direct political relations between the two countries, a completely new era of friendly relations between Iran and Georgia began.
The Official Name & Basic Information
Today the full, official name of the country is "Georgia", as specified in the official English version of the Georgian constitution which reads "Georgia shall be the name of the State of Georgia." Before the 1995 constitution came into force the country's name was the Republic of Georgia.
  • Name: Georgia
    Republic of Georgia
  • Capital City: Tbilisi (1,152,500 pop.)
    (1,485,293 metro)
  • Georgia Population: 4,555,911 (2013 est.)
  • Currency: Georgian lari
    (conversion rates)
  • Ethnicity: Georgian 83.8%, Azeri 6.5%, Armenian 5.7%, Russian 1.5%, other 2.5%
  • GDP total: $26.52 billion (2012 est.)
  • GDP per capita: $5,900 (2012 est.)
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: Georgian 71% (official), Russian 9%, Armenian 7%, Azeri 6%, other 7% note: Abkhaz is the official language in Abkhazia
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Tbilisi, Kutaisi, Batumi, Zugdidi
  • Name: Georgia's name comes from the Christian martyr Saint George
  • National Day: May 26
  • Religion: Orthodox Christian 83.9%, Muslim 9.9%, Armenian-Gregorian 3.9%, Catholic 0.8%, other 0.8%, none 0.7%
  • Georgian Independence Day: 26 May, 1918
Georgia–Iran relations

Iran and Georgia have had relations for millennia, although official diplomatic relations between the two nations in the 20th century were established on May 15, 1992. Georgia is represented by its embassy in Tehran, while Iran has its representative embassy in Tbilisi. Iran is an important trade partner of Georgia.
Tavisupleba (Georgian: თავისუფლება, [tʰɑwisupʰlɛbɑ]) is the national anthem of Georgia. The anthem, whose title means "Freedom", was adopted in 2004, along with the new national flag and coat of arms.